The Latest Music Industry Gigs: 7Digital, DDEX, FBMM, Venable, RIAA

Incoming 7digital CEO John Aalbers
  • Save

Incoming 7digital CEO John Aalbers
  • Save
Incoming 7digital CEO John Aalbers

Here’s a wrap on the latest music industry hirings, firings, and retirings.

If you have a job listing to share, we’re all ears.  Send us a note to

If you’d like to post a job on our Job Board, just send us a request to


Simon Cole will be stepping down as director and CEO of 7digital in April.  John Aalbers has been named the company’s new CEO.

Aalbers will join the company on April 1st, and will join the 7digital board upon completion of the required nominated adviser due diligence process.

Additionally, Julia Hubbard also joined the team as the company’s chief financial officer earlier this month.

10K Projects

Binish Mahmood has been named as the new VP A&R for 10K Projects.  She will be based in both Miami and Los Angeles.


FBMM has announced Jen Conger has been promoted to business manager. She will remain at the firm’s Nashville headquarters.

Triple Tiger Records

Triple Tiger Records announced Laura Hostelley has been promoted to director of marketing.

Venable LLP

Venable LLP has announced the addition of a new nine-member litigation team for its LA office. Partners include Lee S. Brenner, David E. Fink, Michael J. O’Connor, and Sarah L. Cronin. Sarah E. Diamond, Cary L. Finkelstein, Ken D. Kronstadt, Michael C. Godino, and Christina Norsten are joining as associates.

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)

The RIAA has announced that Jonathan Lamy is leaving his position as executive VP of communications and marketing.  Lamy joined the RIAA in 2002.

Mascot Label Group

Jay Wilson has been appointed the president of publicity for Mascot Label Group.


DDEX has announced that Paul Dilorito, Director of Innovation and Partnerships at PRS for Music, has been named chair of its board. He succeeds Richard Thompson. The DDEX Board features executives from the 19 charter members of the organization.  In addition to Dilorito, they are:

  • Amazon – Jill Chapman
  • Apple Inc. – Nick Williamson (Chair Emeritus)
  • ASCAP – Dena Fletcher
  • Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) – Ed Oshanani
  • GEMA – Thomas Theune
  • Google – FX Nuttall (Executive Board)
  • Kobalt Music – Raphael Amselli
  • Pandora Media Inc. – Tony Brooke
  • PPL – Matt Phipps-Taylor
  • Civil Society of Phonographic Producers (SCPP) – Laurent Fradin
  • SACEM – Pascal Roche (Executive Board)
  • SOCAN – Jeff King
  • Sony Music Entertainment – Kirit Joshi (Executive Board)
  • SoundExchange Inc. – Jonathan Bender
  • Spotify AB – Sung Kyu Choi
  • Tencent Music Entertainment Group – Roberta Fong
  • Universal Music Group – Kim Beauchamp (Executive Board)
  • Warner Music Group – Brigette Boyle

Armada Music 

Indie dance label Armada Music has announced Stephanie Karten has been hired as its US-based A&R director. She previously served as director of A&R at Robbins Entertainment for more than a decade.

Musicians on Call

Apple Music’s East Coast Head of Music Steve Savoca has joined Musicians on Call’s national board of directors. The company also promoted Pete Griffin as its new CEO.