Anthem Entertainment Acquires a Trove of Hits from Boardwalk Music Group

Anthem Entertainment Acquires Catalog of Songs From Boardwalk Music Group.
  • Save

Anthem Entertainment Acquires Catalog of Songs From Boardwalk Music Group.
  • Save
Anthem CEO Helen Murphy with Boardwalk Music Group’s Evan Bogart (Courtesy of Anthem Entertainment.)

On October 29th, Anthem Entertainment acquired from Boardwalk Music Group a catalog that includes songs from Halsey, Meghan Trainor, Lizzo, Leon Bridges, Jason Derulo and Pitbull.

The songs, which were written by Eric Frederic (Ricky Reed), include the chart-breaking single for Lizzo “Truth Hurts” as well as “Good as Hell.” Also included in the catalog are the following:

  • “Bad At Love” by Halsey
  • “Bet Ain’t Worth The Hand” by Leon Bridges
  • “Fireball” by Pitbull
  • “Talk Dirty” by Jason Derulo
  • “Wiggle” by Meghan Trainor

Based in Los Angeles, Boardwalk Music Group is both a music publisher and an artist development company. It was founded by songwriter Evan “Kidd” Bogart, and in addition to Ricky Reed, their roster of talent includes songwriter Tom Peyton and blues-rock artist ZZ Ward.

Bogart himself has participated in the writing of many recent hits, including “SOS” by Rihanna and “Halo” by Beyoncé. Other stars he has written for include:

  • Madonna
  • Britney Spears
  • Lizzo, Jennifer Lopez
  • Jason Derulo
  • Demi Lovato
  • Fifth Harmony
  • Carly Rae Jepsen
  • Hot Chelle Rae
  • Enrique Iglesias
  • Sean Kingston
  • Leona Lewis

In regards to the deal, Bogart said, “I am extremely excited that Boardwalk Music Group’s participation in this incredible catalog of songs written by the genius that is Ricky Reed has found such an extraordinary home with Helen Murphy and her fabulous team at Anthem. It feels great to know that these copyrights will continue to thrive for many years to come under their passion and guidance.”

Helen Murphy, who is Anthem Entertainment’s Chief Executive Officer, also commented on the deal. She said, “This is an amazing catalog of contemporary hit songs that is diversified and crosses multiple genres. I am particularly pleased that it contains tracks from powerhouse female artists such as Lizzo, Meghan Trainor and Halsey. I have enjoyed getting to know and work with the talented Evan Bogart during this transaction.”