Meta Verified Coming — A Subscription Service for Creators

Meta verified

Photo Credit: Dima Solomin

Meta is following in Twitter’s footsteps, offering an account subscription aimed at creators. Here’s what’s coming in Meta Verified.

Meta says it wants to make it easier for creators to establish a presence online that is verified, so they can focus on building communities on Instagram or Facebook. The new Meta Verified feature includes a badge that authenticates your account with a government ID, proactive account protection, access to account support, and increased visibility and reach. The service is being tested in Australia and New Zealand for now—with the goal to out to the rest of the world soon.

Facebook says one of its top requests from creators is for broader access to verification and account support. Meta Verified is available for $11.99 monthly on the web or $14.99 on iOS and Android.

What Does Meta Verified Include?

  • A verified badge that confirms you’re the person or entity you claim to be. This badge means the account has been authenticated with a government-issued ID.
  • More protection from impersonation with proactive account monitoring for impersonators who might target people who are growing an online audience.
  • Access to a real person for help resolving common account issues.
  • Increased visibility and reach with prominence in some areas of the platform, including search, comments, and recommendations.
  • Other exclusive features “to be announced soon.”

Accounts must maintain a minimum standard activity requirement such as have a prior posting history and be at least 18 years old. Applicants must submit a government ID that matches the profile name and photo on the Facebook or Instagram account. Once active, the service entails the use to proactive monitoring for account impersonation.

Meta Verified will only support your real name on your profile—so no rap names or nicknames. After the profile has been verified, the name, username, date of birth, and photo cannot be changed without going through the verification process again.