Sweden Triumphs in Eurovision Song Contest 2023

Sweden wins Eurovision Song Contest 2023
  • Save

Sweden wins Eurovision Song Contest 2023
  • Save
Photo Credit: Jonatan Svensson Glad / CC by 3.0

Sweden has won the Eurovision Song Contest for a record-tying seventh time in history. This year’s winning performance was Loreen with “Tattoo.”

Sweden has won the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, with Swedish contestant Loreen coming out on top with her song “Tattoo,” beating out 25 other countries with 583 points. Loreen’s win means Sweden will likely host the contest next year, as the winning country traditionally hosts the following year.

Following Sweden was Finland’s contestant Käärijä in second place with 526 points and Israel’s Noa Kirel in third place with 362 points.

This year is Loreen’s second Eurovision win — she won in 2012 with her song “Euphoria” — and the seventh win for Sweden, tying it with Ireland for the most wins.

This year’s Eurovision Contest took place in Liverpool in the U.K. on behalf of last year’s winner Ukraine after it was determined too dangerous to hold in the country following the Russian invasion. Last year, the U.K.’s Sam Ryder took second place behind Ukraine’s Kalush Orchestra.

Eurovision is run and organized by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). It features musical acts from across Europe and several other countries, including Australia and Israel, which are members of the EBU. This year, the contest was hosted by rapper and “Britain’s Got Talent” judge Alisha Dixon, “Ted Lasso”‘s Hannah Waddingham, Ukrainian musician Julia Sanina, and longtime Eurovision commentator and host Graham Norton.

The show saw several famous faces, including Andrew Lloyd Webber, singer Joss Stone, last year’s winner Kalush Orchestra, and Catherine, the Princess of Wales. Last year’s runner-up, Sam Ryder, performed his latest single, “Mountain,” accompanied by Queen drummer Roger Taylor.

Eurovision Song Contest 2023 Contestants:

  • Teya & Salena (Austria) — “Who the Hell is Edgar?”
  • Mimicat (Portugal) — “Ai Coração”
  • Remo Forrer (Switzerland) — “Watergun”
  • Blanka (Poland) — “Solo”
  • Luke Black (Serbia) — “Samo Mi Se Spava”
  • La Zarra (France) — “Évidemment”
  • Andrew Lambrou (Cyprus) — “Break a Broken Heart”
  • Blanca Paloma (Spain) — “Eaea”
  • Loreen (Sweden) — “Tattoo”
  • Albina & Familja Kelmendi (Albania) — “Duje”
  • Marco Mengoni (Italy) — “Due Vite”
  • Alika (Estonia) — “Bridges”
  • Käärijä (Finland) — “Cha Cha Cha”
  • Vesna (Czechia) — “My Sister’s Crown”
  • Voyager (Australia) — “Promise”
  • Gustaph (Belgium) — “Because Of You”
  • Brunette (Armenia) — “Future Lover”
  • Pasha Parfeni (Moldova) — “Soarele şi Luna”
  • TVORCHI (Ukraine) — “Heart of Steel”
  • Alessandra (Norway) — “Queen of Kings”
  • Lord of the Lost (Germany) — “Blood & Glitter”
  • Monika Linkytė (Lithuania) — “Stay”
  • Noa Kirel (Israel) — “Unicorn”
  • Joker Out (Slovenia) — “Carpe Diem”
  • Let 3 (Croatia) — “Mama ŠČ!”
  • Mae Muller (U.K.) — “I Wrote a Song”