Metallica Joins Fortnite for a Virtual Concert—Here Are the Dates

Metallica Fortnite concert
  • Save

Metallica Fortnite concert
  • Save
Photo Credit: Epic Games

Metallica will become the first band to take center stage in Fortnite this month with a virtual concert and several tie-ins to game modes. Here’s the latest.

Completely customized and built from the ground up using Unreal Editor for Fortnite by technology studio Magnopus, the Metallica: Fuel. Fire. Fury. playable concert will journey through six of Metallica’s fan-favorite songs with themed gameplay that matches the intensity. The immersive music experience will have six different showtimes across two days later this month.

Metallica Virtual Concert — June 22 & June 23

June 22

  • 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET
  • 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET
  • 8 PM PT / 11 PM ET

June 23

  • 7 AM PT / 10 AM ET
  • 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET
  • 8 PM PT / 5 PM ET

Epic Games says these times will be the only time the experience is available to play, unlike previous concerts that played for several days after the main event. James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett, and Robert Trujillo of Metallica are the Fortnite Festival Season 4 icons, with fans able to shred the note highway to chart-topping tracks including “Enter Sandman,” “Ride the Lightning,” and “Master of Puppets.”

This new season of Fortnite Festival introduces a new Battle Stage, a new competitive way to play the rhythm music game and will be available even after the Metallica collaboration ends. Fortnite Festival’s Battle Stage will see 16 players in a match performing the same four-song setlist—with only one emerging victorious. Season 4 starts June 13 and lasts until August 16. Metallica themed gameplay will also be available in game modes including Battle Royale, LEGO Fortnite, and Rocket Racing.

How to watch Fortnite Metallica Concert

  1. Download Fortnite for free on your platform of choice. (PC, PlayStation, Xbox, Nintendo Switch, Android)
  2. Once inside the Fortnite Lobby, select the game mode you want to play.

‘Fortnite Battle Royale’ is the classic shooter, while ‘Fortnite Festival — Main Stage’ is the rhythm-based mode similar to Guitar Hero. ‘Fortnite Festival — Battle Stage’ will launch with the new season for the player-vs-player music gameplay mode.